NaNoWriMo Day 16 and a link

Today’s word count: 2355
Today’s writing: clunky in places, but I just kept going
My energy level: okay

Hurry, hurry, hurry

My day is getting away from me. I started slowly this morning, and then writing took a lot of time. I had to spend about an hour brainstorming before I even turned on the computer. E-mail and other electronic distractions have slowed me down as well. I need to get on with my day, get some housework done, maybe even buy some groceries, but since I’m rather proud of the silly idea I had, I have to share it.

I sent Prince Roderick to see an oracle of sorts. He realized how crazy it was to go riding off into the wilderness looking for a princess who could be anywhere, so he’s gone to the mountains to ask an ancient and wise snowdrake (i.e., furry drakon) where he will find Wren. My favorite thing about this drakon is that he is inquisitive. The deal is, if you can answer his question, you can ask him one. Unfortunately for the prince, you have to be able to actually answer the question. “I don’t know” doesn’t count. Fortunately, however, the drakon is quite happy to go on asking questions until you finally know the answer. So Roderick does eventually get to ask about the princess’s whereabouts, it just takes a while. <evil grin>

I love messing with my characters.

For those who appreciated my defense of NaNoWriMo, here’s someone else’s discussion of how NaNoWriMo is a good thing.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Day 16 and a link”

    1. I don’t know how addictive they are, but I adore my characters, which is part of the reason writing about them is so fun. Normally, I think “I don’t know” is a totally valid answer, one I need to be brave enough to give when it’s true. However, it seems like a complete cop-out when you are being quizzed by a drakon.

    1. Definitely more writing. I’m doing my best to stick with my daily schedule, although I’ve got so many words banked I’m thinking of taking Friday off just to reward myself. Dreaming up all this stuff on a daily basis is a tad wearing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

The maximum upload file size: 1 MB. You can upload: image. Links to YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and other services inserted in the comment text will be automatically embedded. Drop file here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.